Congratulations to Hay River Fire Captain Terence Fischer, and the entire Hay River Fire Department for being awarded the 2017 NWT Fire Service Merit Awards! Thank you for your service, dedication, and bravery. Hay River, and the entire region, is blessed to be protected by such outstanding emergency response services.

Below is the press release from the GNWT.



YELLOWKNIFE (October 11, 2017) – Each year, the Department of Municipal and Community Affairs, recognizes members of the NWT Fire Service for their work in protecting our families and homes from the threat of fire by presenting the annual Fire Service Merit Awards.

NWT Fire Service Merit Awards are granted based on nominations from community members and fire chiefs, to honour and recognize individuals and community fire departments for their significant contribution to fire safety and fire service across the territory.

The 2017 award recipients are:

  • Hay River Fire Captain Terence Fischer – for his bravery, dedication and contributions as a mentor and leader;
  • Hay River Fire Department –for their commitment and dedication to the residents of Hay River through fire department programming and services that they provide locally, and their regional support.

Recognizing the contributions and achievements of fire fighters is an important part of promoting and recognizing the NWT Fire Service. Community fire departments provide vital education and protection services that contribute to sustainable, vibrant, and safe communities.

For more information, contact:

Jay Boast
Communications and Website Advisor
Department of Municipal and Community Affairs
Government of Northwest Territories
(867) 767-9162 – extension 21044